US Transportation Department announces new members to the FAA’s Drone Advisory Committee

U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao has announced new appointments to the Federal Aviation Administration’s (FAA) Drone Advisory Committee (DAC).

According to the agency:

“The DAC is a broad-based, long-term federal advisory committee that provides the FAA advice on key unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) integration issues by helping to identify challenges and prioritize improvements. The committee helps to create broad support for an overall integration strategy and vision. Members of the DAC are executives who represent a variety of UAS interests, including industry, research, academia, retail, technology and state and local government. Secretary Chao named Michael Chasen, chief executive officer for PrecisionHawk USA Inc., as chair of the DAC.

The DAC is chartered to have up to 35 members and the announcement of 20 May 2019  will fill 12 vacancies. The new members in addition to Michael Chasen are listed below:

  • Thomas Karol, General Counsel, National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies
  • David Silver, Vice President for Civil Aviation, Aerospace Industries Association
  • Joseph DePete, President, Air Line Pilots Association
  • Bob Brock, Director of Aviation and Unmanned Aircraft Systems, Kansas Department of Transportation
  • Mark Colborn, Senior Corporal, Dallas Police Department
  • Michael Leo, Captain, New York City Fire Department
  • Steve Ucci, Senior Deputy Majority Leader, Rhode Island State Assembly
  • Mariah Scott, President, Skyward
  • Lorne Cass, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, American Airlines
  • Michael Sinnett, Vice President, Product Development and Strategy, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
  • Chris Anderson, Chief Executive officer, 3DR
  • Peter Cleveland, Vice President of Law and Policy group, Intel Corporation

For more information

Share this:
Counter Drone System - D-Fend Solutions
Airlink Ukraine advert. Click for website