FAA announces members of its UAS Detection and Mitigation Aviation Rulemaking Committee

Fifty-eight aviation stakeholders will soon develop recommendations for the expanded detection and mitigation of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS)., according to a press statement from the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

“The FAA  formed the UAS Detection and Mitigation Systems Aviation Rulemaking Committee to ensure that new technologies designed to detect and mitigate risks from errant or hostile UAS do not adversely impact the safe and efficient operation of the nation’s airspace,” said the agency. ”The ARC’s 58 members represent a diverse set of aviation stakeholders, including those from the UAS industry.

The members are:

  • Academy of Model Aeronautics (AMA) Chad Budreau
  • AeroVigilance Tom Adams
  • Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA) Eric Herman
  • Airborne Public Safety Association Daniel Schwarzbach
  • Airlines for America Craig Lowe
  • Airplane Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA) Christopher Cooper
  • Airport Consultants Council (ACC) Dave Fleet
  • Airport Law Enforcement Agencies Network (ALEAN) Kevin Murphy
  • Airport Minority Advisory Council (AMAC) Ernest Huffman
  • Airports Council International – North America (ACI-NA) Matt Cornelius
  • Aloft Jon Hegranes
  • Amazon Sean Cassidy
  • American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE) Stephanie Gupta
  • American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Jay Stanley
  • American Correctional Association Rob Green
  • Aviation Spectrum Resources Inc. (ASRI) Andy Roy
  • Association of Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) Michael Robbins
  • ASTM International Philip Kenul
  • CTIA Avonne Bell
  • Cherokee Nation Rob Carroll
  • Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma James Grimsley
  • Chula Vista Police Department Roxana Kennedy
  • Commercial Drone Alliance Lisa Ellman
  • Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMPTO) April Rai
  • DeDrone Aaditya Devarakonda
  • D-Fend Solutions Brodesky Ilana
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport Chris McLaughlin
  • DroneResponders Christopher Todd
  • Echodyne Leo McCloskey
  • Florida Power & Light Company Eric Schwartz
  • Helicopter Association International (HAI) James Viola
  • Hidden Level Jeff Cole
  • Hillsborough County Airport Authority Adam Bouchard
  • Honeywell David Karsch
  • International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) Keith Stephenson
  • International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) Christopher Sadler
  • Major League Baseball (MLB) David Thomas
  • Minneapolis-Saint Paul Metropolitan Airports Commission Roy Fuhrmann
  • NATCA Melvin Davis
  • National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO) Kyle Wanner
  • National Football League (NFL) Cathy Lanier
  • National League of Cities Brittney Kohler
  • Northrop Grumman Curt Ames
  • NUAIR Ken Stewart
  • Pierce Aerospace Aaron Pierce
  • Port of Long Beach Casey Hehr
  • Raytheon Technologies Elizabeth Soltys
  • RTCA Terry McVenes
  • Skydio Jenn Player
  • Sky Safe Grant Jordan
  • Society of Chemical Manufacturers and Affiliates Joe Dettinger
  • Stadium Managers Association Jeana Schultz
  • The Boeing Company Stella Weidner
  • The MITRE Corporation Michelle Duquette
  • Texas Department of Public Safety Jason Day
  • Virginia State Police Richard Boyd
  • WiMax Forum Declan Byrne
  • WING Matt Satterley

“The FAA understands the potential risk posed by drones in the hands of unwelcome actors and we want to involve the entire industry in finding and using safe solutions,” said Tonya Coultas, Acting Associate Administrator for Security and Hazardous Materials Safety.

Michael Robbins, Executive Vice President of the Association for Uncrewed Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI); Matt Cornelius, Executive Vice President of Airports Council International-North America; and Abigail Smith, Acting Executive Director of UAS Security for the FAA, serve as co-chairs.

The committee will begin its work in May and issue a final report in early 2024.

For more information


Share this:
D-Fend advert. Click for website